The #1 Self Limiting Belief

limiting belliefs

 

Today I was reading an email I got from one of the hundred newsletters I subscribe to.  The title was “The Top 10 Self-Limiting Beliefs” (mindmovies.com). Here they are:

1. I’m too old
2. I’m not smart enough
3. I’m not educated enough
4. I’m afraid of trying and failing
5. You have to have money to make money
6. I’ve already tried everything
7. It’s selfish of me to want more
8. I don’t feel that I really deserve it
9. I don’t have the willpower
10. All the good ones are taken

I think I have victimized myself with all of these.  This list is actually just a number of ways of saying “I’m not good enough“.  For most of my life I was quiet and anxious.  I didn’t stick up for myself and I never spoke what was on my mind.  I drowned out my feelings on inferiority with drugs and other substances.  I did not like myself and the truth is, I don’t think other people liked me that much either.  I wouldn’t wear the clothes that I actually liked, or do my hair a different way.  In the back of my head was always “What are they going to think?”  I completely took on the role of victim and it became who I truly was.  I didn’t try to do anything with my life because I felt like I didn’t deserve good things.  I sabotaged my own life.

There is so much out there that has helped me.  My new favorite is Eckhart Tolle’s “A New Dawn” (I think that’s the name of it)  He explains the function of the ego in ways that even I can understand.   The next is Louise Hay.  Her work has taught me to question my own beliefs.  For example I have always felt like I’m not smart enough.  Where did this come from?  It came from the people I was around in my early childhood that would belittle me constantly and from then on I took it on as an aspect of myself.  Louise Hay suggests that after we figure out where the belief comes from we should ask ourselves, ‘is it true?’  Now for the past few years in college I have been surrounded by people that know more than I do about particular subjects.  When I started to learn to love myself, I realized that they may know more than I do about computer programming or web development (what I went to school for) but I probably know more than they do about other subjects.  Everyone has their own passions, I like programming and web development, but I spend my free time learning about things like recovery and spirituality.  Not to mention the fact that unlike many of my fellow students I am getting close to 30 and I have a two year old, I don’t have time to spend all of my time studying and working on a 4.0.

About recoveringfrompowerlessness

I am a 28 year old female who began my spiritual path at the age of 24. I was dying of alcoholism, I felt completely hopeless and powerless. After 2 months of working a 12-step program I learned that I was pregnant. I was a complete mess and I was about to be responsible for another life. I had my baby and later found that the whole time the father of my child, whom I am still with, is addicted to pain killers. Even after getting sober and working a program my life was miserable. I was back in school but my drivers license had been revoked permanently. Basically my short life has been one huge hurdle after another. And yes, I realize they are all hurdles of my own making. Throughout the years I began to feel like that the program that I was involved in was not feeding me spiritually anymore. I am still involved, and I owe my life to that program, I just felt like i was merely getting by. I was trying to conform in a Christian-Based program and I felt like I was the only person who didn't share the common belief system. It took me some time to figure out exactly what was going on, I was not being my authentic self and it was killing my spirit. By the way I am pagan, in case you were wondering. I am learning more about myself constantly and the more I learn to love myself the more I thrive in life and in recovery.
This entry was posted in Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

